My favourite childhood memory

I am the older sibling of the two of us in my family and so, I was the first one to be a part of the family. But strangely I have clear memories only after my baby sister was born, though the age gap is around 7 years. I remember clearly when she was brought home from the hospital and I haven’t seen any smaller babies before her. I was really excited and as well as nervous about how she will accept me. The day she was coming home I remember, I literally bathed early in the morning, wore my favourite pink dress and got ready to welcome her home. Little did I know then that she would be too small to play with me on that time. When I first saw her, my immediate reaction was, cummon she can’t be a human being, she is just a doll! Then I realised no she was moving and crying and making faces! Now I really wanted to hold her in my arms, but I was also really young and no one was allowing me to hold her. My mom understood that and she told me to sit beside her and she will give my sister on my lap. I was extremely excited and as well as nervous because that was the first time I ever held a small baby. I took her on my tender lap and she instantly looked at me, and I swear she was happy! That was the first ever connection I felt with my sister and never ever realised the feeling! But sadly that lasted for a short time because I had to let her go and I felt angry at my relatives who got to hold her for long and not me!!

Me and my sister

But that was the sweetest childhood memory that I will always cherish in my life. I still feel so happy that I have a sibling and truely great full to my parents for gifting me the best gift ever!!

2 thoughts on “My favourite childhood memory

Leave a comment